FINCA International Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Admin/Logistic and Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Velāyat-e KābolOctober 29, 2018
As FINCA is a microfinance Bank and we are very busy and we do not get time for fun or game at our working hours, Only after working hours we go to snooker club once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Key leadership does not care about the mission
Employee (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 2, 2018
Most of the people who work here care about the mission and what the organization stands for. The CFO does not. His concern is self-focused and multiple times described himself as a mercenary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
And good environment for development of skills and a good training ground
Account opening officer (Former Employee) –  LusakaMay 16, 2018
It is a good organisation which is centered on working hard to produce results.
Targets are set and responsibilities must be taken for those who do not meet targets,however it is a good place for only self motivated individual as there is little or no recognition of hard work.
Pros
Ability to work both independently and in a team.family kind of relationship
Cons
inability of leaders to stand on their wprd
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working enviroment and teamwork
Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Chipatá, SantanderApril 3, 2018
Good working environment, good communication between management and the rest of the staff.
Good team work and well coordinated. less opportunity on career advancement
Pros
No lunch provided
Cons
Healthcare is provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finca
Senior Donor Information Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 9, 2018
Data Entry; Import On-Line Donations; Select Data Files for Direct Marketing; Data Cleanup.
Management was very supportive. Culture was relaxed and congenial.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente Laboral Excelente
Analista de Mercadeo (Current Employee) –  GuatemalaJanuary 6, 2018
En FINCA valoran mucho a los empleados y sus necesidades.
Pros
Seguro Médico Privado
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive wages
Funding and Disbursement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 5, 2018
Nice work environment. Whole system of microfinancing is well developed. They take care about there employees. They offer bonuses. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work
SIEM Development Supervisor (Former Employee) –  GuatemalaDecember 15, 2017
A good place to learn about the quality of software development, methodologies and software development techniques. Teamwork and project monitoring.
I fell in love with SCRUM, because with our estimates it was much more accurate than in the old way.
Pros
ife insurance health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decline to Provide full Review
Senior HR Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 8, 2017
Decline to provide full review. I do not wish to divulge more information at this time. The company culture overall is good but intradepartmental dynamics are lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
International Recruiter (Former Employee) –  DC - District of Columbia, DCOctober 20, 2017
Management is low rated. Need more trust to employees and too many corruptions at international level. A lots of room for improvement.
Wouldn't recommend as the best place of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Financial Analysis Experience
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 1, 2017
Good financial analysis experience with exposure to full reporting cycles and integrated financial statement modeling. Lots of work, practically all done in Excel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 Star Office Environment/People
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 17, 2017
My typical day was filled with cheerful faces and a stimulating environment. I formed a friendly relationship with several of the staff. My hours were fair, and we had fun food events often. My co-workers were friendly, and I always felt comfortable holding a conversation with or confronting anyone in the office if needed.
Pros
Free lunches, breakfast, happy-hours, christmas parties, great people, beautiful office
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless the founders and old guard moves on it will continue to fail
Manager (Current Employee) –  TajikistanJanuary 6, 2017
It could be a great place to work. Wonderful mission. But the people who set it up have hung around to long and destroyed the institution. Unless there is meaningful change at Board level and the old senior management the institution will continue to rod away; self serving famiky and friends of the founders.
Pros
Mission
Cons
Culture, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avis sur l'entreprise
SME Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  KinshasaOctober 25, 2016
-forte opportunité d’évolution mais pas de rapport progressif rémunération et niveau de travail
-collaboration ouverte entre collègue et disponibilité de travailler en équipe
-forte pression sur les objectifs et de fois tout en oubliant l'aspect humain sur la gestions des erreurs et des personnes
-travail bien structuré adaptabilité du temps de travail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FINCA under new CEO
Global Advisor to CEO (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 17, 2016
FINCA is an international microfinance organisation which is undergoing transition under the management of new CEO. It is an ongoing process including upgrading business model and other new challenges.
Pros
Social mission, good culture
Cons
Instability and potential relocation abroad/layoff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  KosovoOctober 16, 2016
Dynamic workplace, overloaded with technical issues, happy staff in general, but low compensation comparing with the performance and attitude of the branch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission in helping the less privileged
Several Posts throughout career (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 26, 2016
Great Mission in helping the less privileged. Client loyalty derived form benefits received from FINCA International services and products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meaningful work
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Port-au-Prince, haiatiJuly 6, 2016
i work for the susidiary at FINCA HATI, SA.
the leadership is very knowleadgesble, harworking. there is not a typical day, we have an objective, we try to stay on target but are very flexible if necessary.
i enjoyed making a difference in the client's lives living in the rural areas who had to travel long distances to repay their loans
Pros
interesting work
Cons
lack of resources
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission, Poor Management
Staff (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 26, 2016
Competing Strategies and Priorities
Unqualified Director and C-level management
Lack of Controls
Lack of Systems
Long hours with no value add or real impact
Limited growth potential
Many Warm and Hardworking People
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once Strong now weak
Operations CFO (Current Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAMarch 2, 2016
FINCA International is undergoing a stressful, possibly existential period given the strong U.S. dollar and low commodity prices. The exchange rates of many of our subsidiaries have declined significantly and our borrowers are having difficulty repaying their loans.What was once an easy-going, collegial environment is quite stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FINCA International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 30 reviews
57
410
35
26
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture